SW Colorado Nightingale Luminary & STAR Awards Nominations 2019 2018-11-28T10:17:56+00:00


Nightingale Luminary Awards

The Nightingale Luminary Awards Ceremony was established in 1985 to recognize nurses throughout Colorado who exemplify the spirit of the profession in the areas of Advocacy, Innovation and Leadership. The Southwestern Colorado AHEC Luminary Awards began in 2011 to recognize excellence in nursing practice and highlight nurses whose program or project changed the way care is delivered. Luminaries are automatically nominated for the annual Nightingale Awards, Colorado’s highest nursing honor.

This award was named after Florence Nightingale in honor of her many years of service as a leader, innovator, and advocator of the Nursing profession. She was known as a pioneer of her time, and her practices still influence the field of nursing. Today, new pioneers strive to revolutionize nursing and make an impact in our communities. Please see the Colorado Nurses Foundation for more information. *See nomination instructions below.

Southwestern Colorado AHEC STAR Awards

The STAR Awards were initiated in 2014 to celebrate excellence in nursing practice and to honor nurses in SW Colorado who make an impact on patients and their community. There are two categories for STAR Awards:

  • Rising STAR Award (less than 10 years in practice)
  • Shining STAR Award (10 or more years in practice)

Selection is based on how the nominee meets Colorado’s core competencies. *See nomination instructions below.

Awards will be determined by a community selection committee and announced at the annual Nightingale Luminary & STAR Awards Ceremony and Fundraiser. In addition to the awards, SW Colorado AHEC  shows support for “growing our own” nursing workforce and the education of nurses by awarding a $1000 nursing student scholarship during the event.

Nomination Instructions

In order to submit the strongest application possible, meet with the nominee first to discuss categories, areas of recognition, past experiences, and success stories. Be very clear about the reason for nomination. Next, complete the questions below to determine the most appropriate type of award and category for your nomination.

**Be sure to share this nomination with the nominee. An automatically-generated email will be sent to the nominee to obtain their Consent to Nomination and agreement, that if nominated for an Award, they will attend the SWCAHEC event on March 14, 2019 in Durango; or if chosen for a Nightingale Luminary Award, they will attend the Gala in Denver on May 11, 2019.

Please note: You are nominating a nurse whose contributions have made a significant impact on his/her community and the profession of nursing. **The Nightingale Luminary & STAR Awards Selection Committee has only this documentation to determine awardees. Answer all questions thoroughly, use data where appropriate, and give as many examples and as much detail as possible. Use specific examples of accomplishments to describe HOW the nominee demonstrates caring that goes beyond expected behaviors, core competencies, and compassionate care. For an example of a winning Nightingale Luminary Award nomination, click here: Nomination sample. A stellar STAR Awards nomination example is here: RISING STAR sample. Instructions for a winning Letter of Support can be found here: Tip Sheet for writing nomination essays .

Nominations for all awards close on 11:59 pm Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019.

For Luminary awards: Past Nightingale Luminaries or finalists are eligible for renomination. Past Nightingale Award recipients are ineligible for renomination.

*Based on how you answer the questions below, you will be linked to the most appropriate awards nominations. If you have questions or would like to discuss this process, please contact AHEC staff at 970-426-4284 or info@swcahec.org .