Our Partners


The State of Colorado is divided into six regions (Centennial, Central, San Luis Valley, Southeastern Colorado, Southwestern Colorado and Western Colorado) with an Area Health Education Center Office in each region.


The six regional AHECs partner with the Schools of: Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy and Physical Therapy, and the Physician Assistant program to meet the goals of the HRSA grant.

The Colorado Area Health Education Centers Program works to build state-wide network capacity and strengthen academic-community linkages in four core mission areas. The four core mission areas of the Colorado AHEC are: Health Careers and Workforce Diversity, Health Professions Student Education, Health Professions Continuing Education and Public Health and Community Education. Specifically, the purpose of the HRSA program is:

  • To develop and enhance education and training networks within communities, academic institutions, and community-based organizations
  • To increase diversity among health professionals
  • To broaden the distribution of the health workforce
  • To enhance healthcare quality
  • To improve healthcare delivery to rural and underserved areas and populations
  • Other Colorado AHEC Offices

    Central Colorado AHEC
    Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Clear Creek, Denver, Douglas, Elbert, El Paso, Gilpin, Jefferson

    Centennial AHEC

    Larimer, Weld, Morgan, Logan, Sedgwick, Phillips, Washington, Yuma, Lincoln, Kit Carson


  • Southeastern Colorado AHEC

    Baca, Bent, Chaffee, Cheyenne, Crowley Custer, Freemont, Huerfeno, Kiowa, Lake, Las Animas, Otero, Park, Prowers, Pueblo, Teller

  • San Luis Valley AHEC

    Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, SaguacheWestern Colorado AHEC
    Delta, Eagle, Garfield, Grand, Gunnison, Jackson, Mesa, Moffat, Montrose, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt, Summit