Southwest Colorado Nursing Excellence Award

The Luminary Awards Ceremony was established in 1985 to recognize nurses throughout Colorado who exemplify the spirit of the profession in the areas of Advocacy, Innovation and Leadership. The SW Colorado Nursing Excellence Awards began in 2011 to recognize excellence in nursing practice and highlight nurses whose program or project changed the way care is delivered. Regional Nominees and Award winners will be honored during a local awards ceremony to be held at Fort Lewis College on May 1st 2024 with the possibility of advancement to a statewide award contest held in Denver on May 18th 2024.

Nominations open January 12 and close on March 1, 2024

Statewide Event held in Denver on May 18, 2024

Please see the Colorado Nurses Foundation to nominate a nurse.

Categories of Recognition:

Awards are presented in the following sixteen categories:

Acute Care Clinical Practice

Clinical Advanced Practice RN
Long Term Care, Rehabilitation

Community Nursing

Nurse Led Teams
Nursing Administration

Executive (CEO, CNO or Director Level)
Research and Quality Improvement and Health Care Policy
Nursing Research
Quality Improvement
Health Care Policy
Nursing Education
Nursing Professional Development
Excellence in Nursing Eminence Award

If you have questions, please contact Kate Hartzell at 970-426-4284 or [email protected].